2017 FlatOut Race Series Round 5: Gono takes the top step

Driving his Motul-Cleanfuel Lotus Exige V6 entry, Luis Gono made the most out of the dry track and set the fastest time of day on the full 4.189 km circuit in Round 5 of the FlatOut Race Series’ (FORS) 2017 season at the Clark International Speedway (CIS) last July 1.

Gono clocked a best lap of 2:03.441 to give him 1st place in Bracket R, but the 18-year-old driver wasn’t satisfied, thinking can even go faster in cooler weather. Lance Binamira in his Motolite-sponsored #32 Toyota Corolla AE92 was second with a 2:09.053, while Team Forced Speed’s Eggy Ong, who took a sensational win in the GT Radial Grid A race, wrapped up the podium at third spot with a 2:09.907 time.

Eduardo Suiza in his #200 W-Autosport / Staging Lanes Honda Civic EG, was fastest in Bracket A, clocking a time of 2:10.212, even as Ong went out again on a different set of tires to grab 2nd with a 2:10.995 lap. Rafael la O’ aboard his #1 Auto Magic Honda Civic EK came in 3rd.

Bacolod native Jero Consing logged another win in Bracket B with a 2:16.765 lap. Andrew de Asis maintained his points’ lead after finishing 2nd and Nicolo Fernandez was 3rd, logging a time that’s only 0.046 second behind De Asis.

Bracket C honors went to Kiko De La Rama as he bested a field of 9 drivers with a best time of 2:21:151. Dax Santiano and Bubi Camus were 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

Greg Suing took the win in Bracket D, with Ralph Tan and Raymond de Pano taking the remaining podium positions.

The Top 3 finishers in Bracket E were Abet Reyes, Michael Angelo Turing, and Bernard Michael Santos, respectively.

In Bracket F, Mark Castro was able to outpace Steve Travers and Robert Tan for the win. Rounding out the time attack is Bracket G with Mark Pascual in the BYD F0 taking 1st, followed by Miguel Narciso in 2nd.

Grid Race

It was a 3-way battle in the GT Radial Grid A race between Suiza, Ong and La O’.

Ong, in his #313 Forced Speed Honda Civic FD, got a great start off the line and led the race.

Having less horsepower than Suiza and La O’ didn’t deter Ong, who banked on his consistent performance to win with a commanding 14.998-second lead.

Suiza followed in 2nd and also set the fastest lap of the race with a blistering 2:10.373 lap, quick enough to win Bracket A. La O’ crossed the finish line in 3rd a lap behind the leaders.

Another Forced Speed driver won in the KYB Grid B race in Nicolo Fernandez in his #350 Honda Civic EG as he claimed 1st place in the 11-lap race, followed by Blanche Racing’s Andrew De Asis in 2nd and Dominique Bon in 3rd.

On his first season in the FlatOut Race Series, Bubi Camus in the BRE x Carmudi Mazda MX-5 claimed his first win in the Smart Fuels Grid C race, beating Jack Saquilayan in 2nd and teammate Polo Bautista in 3rd.

With 14 cars on grid, the Recaro Grid D race was the biggest field of the day.

But all the attention was focused on the lead battle that brewed between Motorsport Development Program’s Paolo Santos, Ralph Tan, and Raymond De Pano.

Tan fought hard, but his efforts failed to yield any results after he broke out of his bracket time and was handed a 120-second penalty. De Pano, likewise, incurred a penalty and dropped down the order. This left Santos, fellow MSDP graduate Bernard Michael Santos and Ronn Catindig to take 1st, 2nd, and 3rd spots, respectively.

Works Bell Grid E saw Robert Tan take a commanding win, finishing a full lap ahead of Mark Pascual in 2nd.

The FlatOut Race Series (FORS) will return to the Batangas Racing Circuit on August 5 for Round 6.