2017 FlatOut Race Series Round 4: Suiza reclaims the top spot

   Eduardo Suiza, the 2016 FORS champion, reclaimed his title as he set the fastest time of 1:49.018 in winning both Brackets R and A in Round 4 of the FlatOut Race Series that hauled 67 participants in the Time Attack and Grid Race on June 3 at Batangas Racing Circuit.

Driving his modified Honda Civic EG, Suiza edged Blanche Racing’s and FORS Round 3 champion JC Baguisa as he pulled off a close 0.075 of a second win. Rafael la O’ was third with a time of 1:49.709.

Meanwhile, in Bracket B, Nicolo Fernandez topped the time sheets with a 1:56.367 lap, with Andrew de Asis on second spot, and Andrei Lim on third.

Making his debut race this season, Kevin “The Beard” Sugden left a great impression by nabbing the top spot in Bracket C in his Subaru Impreza WRX Wagon.

Retaining second spot was Bubi Camus in his Miata, while Kikong Dela Rama placed third in his Subaru WRX STi.

Greg Suing outpaced Paolo Santos and Ronn Catindig in Bracket D, which made him clinch 1st place, leaving Santos disappointed in second, and Catindig in third spot.

Bracket E became an all-Toyota podium as Lars Alonzo came in first in his Corolla, Mars Ocampo ranked second in his Yaris, and Raymond de Pano came in last in his Corolla.

Abet Reyes, Mark Macas, and Robert Tan were the top finishers in Bracket F, while Julian Diego topped his first race in Bracket G, leaving the MSDP finalist Bernard Michael Santos, and Mark Pascual in second and third place, respectively.

In the GT Radial Grid A competition, Dondon Portugal made a smooth start to lead the opening lap, but was hounded eventually by a pack of Honda Civics driven by Rafael la O’, Eduardo Suiza, and JC Baguisa.

This allowed La O’ to have a blissful moment grabbing the top spot. A heroic drive by Eggy Ong earned him a well-respected 2nd place, and Suiza cruised to third.

Blanche Racing teammates Aaron Lao and Andrew de Asis jousted for the lead in the KYB Grid B race. The two, this time, made no contact and Lao crossed the line and reached the checkered flag first, followed by de Asis in second, and Fernandez in third.

The remaining fight among Suing, Santos, and Catindig in the Recaro Grid D race was a replay of their battle in Bracket D. However, Catindig was able to inherit third place after Ralph Tan got penalized for an avoidable contact during the race.

In the Works Bell Grid E race, Robert Tan pulled away from the field to win with a 2.795 secs. lead. Andre Tan fought his way to second, with Mark Macas finishing third.