2016 NLEXcellence Safety Awards


MNTC Honors Road Safety Role Models at 2016  NLEXcellence Safety Awards
By Angel Rivero

The winners of the 2016 NLEXcellence Safety Awards were revealed to the public in one big thanksgiving celebration held at the Manila Hotel last Thursday, November 17. This year, 14 transport companies who have shown commendable practices in road safety were bestowed with the MNTC’s (Manila North Tollways Corporation) ‘Seal of Excellence’. The awards were presented by MNTC President and CEO, Rodrigo Franco, together with AVP for Marketing, Ms. Grace Ayento.


“We have upheld road safety as the mantra of our operations because safety and stories about safety bring in more motorists to the NLEX,” explained Franco during the prestigious awards night. Happily adding that “Our bus and truck operators have become road safety champions and their drivers have become exemplars in road safety.”


Now on its 4th year of recognizing companies who frequent the NLEX and have been exemplary in road safety while doing so, MNTC AVP for Marketing, Grace Ayento, acknowledges that “the NLEXcellence Awards would not have been successful without the enthusiastic response, cooperation, and support of all participating truck and bus companies.” Furthering that “They are the reason why this award exists – to bring out the role models in the transport industry whose high standards for road safety should be followed by all other bus and truck companies.”

coe4 coe1

The awards program is open to all qualified bus and trucking companies who conduct at least 50% of their trips passing through Northern Philippines, of which at least 30% of these trips are taken via the NLEX (North Luzon Expressway). Companies qualify if they meet the minimum fleet size of at least 20 vehicles.

coe3 coe2

This year’s awards included the: Company Operational Excellence Award, which recognizes transport companies who implement commendable operational policies that support the safety of their driver force and fleet; Excellence in Vehicle Quality Award, which recognizes companies that go the extra mile to ensure that their vehicles are consistently roadworthy and always in tip-top running shape; and the Excellence in Driver Professionalism Award, which distinguishes companies that ensure they maintain only well-trained, law-abiding drivers who prioritize getting their passengers and cargo to their respective destinations in a safe and timely fashion.

The following are the awardees for this year’s Company Operational Excellence category:
Correa Trucking
RVL Movers Corporation
Golden Shine International Freight
JA Global Statistics
Baliwag Transit

Excellence in Vehicle Quality category:
YM Cargo Transport
Lebria Transport & Allied Services Corp.
CA Logistics Corporation
Pangasinan Five Star Bus

Excellence in Driver Professionalism category:
Gapuzan Trucking Inc.
Stellar Cargo Services Inc.
AAI Worldwide Logistics
EG Overland Transport Corporation
Aqua Freight Cargo

Furthermore, in this year’s Safety Awards, the MNTC inducted the remarkable Giga RSB Trucking Corporation to its NLEXcellence Hall of Fame, for having excelled in all 3 awards categories of Company Operational Excellence, Vehicle Quality, and Driver Professionalism.

Congratulations to all the winners!


Contributing Editor